Ten Questions for a Malagasy Lutheran Pastor

I just returned from a weeklong meeting of the FLM (Malagasy Lutheran Church) for the Tulear Synod.  I was a guest of the Synod President, who is a pastor at the same church I attend.  While we were at the conference, I sat down with him to ask him some questions so I could learn a little more about what it’s like to be a pastor in Madagascar.

1.    What is your full name?

TRABONJY Alson, Pastora  (note: in Malagasy the “last name” comes first)

2.    How many years have you been a pastor?

60 years

3.    Where did you go to seminary?

Betela Morondava and Ivory Fianarantsoa

4.    Did you grow up in a Lutheran family?

Yes, my grandfather was a pastor and my father was a teacher at the Lutheran College.

5.    How did you know you were called to be a pastor?

I was not forced to be a pastor but I felt Jesus calling me through the Holy Spirit.

6.    What is the best part about being the Synod President?  Hardest part?

The best part is getting to lead and teach others.  The hardest part is leading the other pastors in the synod.

7.    Have you been to America? 

Yes!  Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.  I have also been to Norway; Nairobi, Kenya; Cameroon; and South Africa.  

Image

The Synod President with his wife and I posing by a blanket he got while visiting Pittsburgh

What did you do there [in Pittsburgh]?

I visited the Pennsylvania synod.

What is your favorite American food?

Pizza

How do the FLM and the ELCA (Evangelical Lutheran Church in America) work together?

The churches have a good relationship.  We have worked together on many projects such as building a dispensary in Ankasoabo, buying a car for the synod, and sharing a typewriter.  (for more on the ELCA’s relationship with Malagasy Lutherans check out this News Release:  http://www.elca.org/Who-We-Are/Our-Three-Expressions/Churchwide-Organization/Communication-Services/News/Releases.aspx?a=5283 )

Image

The Madagascar volunteers got to meet the bishop of the ELCA, Rev. Mark Hanson (back right), and the director of global mission, Rev. Rafael Padilla (front left), when they were in the capital of Madagascar signing a partnership agreement between the FLM and the ELCA.

8.    In your opening to the synod meeting you said that Jesus finished the work of his Father and it is our job to do the work of the Lord (John 17:1-5).  What is the biggest thing the FLM needs to do as a church?

It will be a long time until we finish the work of the Lord.  We don’t finish this work now.  We can’t be completely satisfied until Jesus comes.  For now, we have several development projects in health and farming.

9.    What do you do when you have free time?

I rest at home and help my wife.

10. What is your favorite verse in the Bible?

John 3:16- “For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him may not perish but may have eternal life.”

 

Image

My Malagasy Mama and I at the conference.

Thanks to my Malagasy Mama, Jeannette, for translating for us!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.