Light in the Darkness

Image

My dad and grandpa cooking ribs together when he came up for my graduation last year

Back in November I wrote about the celebration of Fety ‘ny Maty (Party of the Dead), so I hope it won’t seem morbid that I’m writing about death again.  I just found out on Wednesday that my Grandpa Griewisch passed away.  He suffered a stroke last year and had been declining in health ever since, so his death wasn’t completely unexpected to my family and I.  It was still hard to hear that he is gone because this is the first grandparent that I have lost and I am so far away from my dad at a time when I just want to give him a big hug.  It’s also hard because, like many of you, he was so supportive of what I’m doing here in Madagascar, and even continued to ask about me when my dad made trips down to Florida during his most difficult times.

 

When I found out about my Grandfather’s death, I immediately shared it with Jeannette, my Malagasy mama.  Ever since, she has prayed for him at every meal and said a special prayer for him one night before I went to bed, asking God to be with my family and me since I’m so far away from them right now.  It means a lot to me to have her prayers and I know she understands because her sister just died in January from cancer. 

 

Her sister’s name was Jeanne Kaoline.  She was only 44 years old with three kids when she died at a hospital in Antananarivo, the capital of Madagascar.  Jeannette left Tulear three times to make the 12 hour trip to Antananarivo to be with her sister during her treatments.  After her sister died, the body was brought to Tulear for the funeral and burial, which I attended.  Before the funeral though, there were many preparations that are part of the traditions here.  Jeannette spent two nights in the room where here sister’s body was being kept and received visitors during the day.  The visitors brought flowers or money to make a contribution to the family.  Many of the people who came also prayed, sang, or just sat for a while in the room where Jeannette’s sister had been laid on a bed with a net covering it and flowers placed at the end.  This was a hard time for Jeannette and she got very sick afterward.  At the burial, the casket was lowered into the tomb and each person tossed a handful of sand on top of the casket.  Jeannette explained to me that this is done so that the friends and family can make a contribution to her burial and that it means “veloma” (goodbye).

Image

Traditional flowers and net covering the bed where the dead is placed until the burial

Image

Jeannette and I greeting other visitors in the room where the body is kept

 

During the past couple days I’ve thought about what I will miss about my Grandpa.  I asked Jeannette what she misses most about her sister and she told me her sister was generous, quiet, a problem solver, and a friend.  She will be missed by Jeannette, the students that she taught biology to, and those she helped as a treasurer for a group at the high school for teachers in Tulear.  Even though it can be very sad to lose someone you love and there is a solemn feeling during this time of Lent as we anticipate Jesus’ death, I know we can look forward to the resurrection that comes on Easter.  I know that those we’ve lost are also raised as it says in Romans 6:5, “For if we have been united with him in a death like his, we will certainly be united with him in a resurrection like his.”  They don’t celebrate Lent in Madagascar, but I still find myself encouraged by this season of hope and the promises that it holds.

Image

Luke, a fellow YAGM volunteer, and I in traditional funeral “lambas” or cloths

Categories: Uncategorized | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Light in the Darkness

  1. Kristi Collins

    I’m sorry for your loss and please convey my sympathies to Jeanette also. May God bless your family during this time, being the distance apart that you are. It sounds like you and Jeanette are a comfort to each other. God be with you all. I will be praying for you all!
    Kristi Collins

  2. Kathy Griewisch

    Well said my daughter…we love you and miss you and can’t wait ’til we are once again reunited.

  3. Prayers, prayers, prayers to you, Kate, and to your dad and family. Your faith continues to inspire and encourage me and I love your Romans text here. So I leave you with another text of peace:

    John 14: 1-3 “Do not let your hearts be troubled. Believe in God, believe also in me [Jesus]. 2In my Father’s house there are many dwelling places. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? 3And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, so that where I am, there you may be also.”

    The same Jesosy that walks with you here, walks with your family, and has His arms wide open to receive your Grandpa’s spirit. Peace be to you, Kate.

    • Thank you for the prayers for me and my family. And thank you for the reminder that God has prepared a place for my Grandpa in His house.

  4. Colleen Einarson Rand

    Greetings from Wintery Winnipeg Kate. My sincerest condolences to you and your family at this sad time. Colleen Einarson Rand

    • Greetings from a hot (and rainy) Madagascar! Thank you for thinking of me and my family. I hope your family is doing well and staying warm.

  5. Toni Head

    Our condolences to you, too Kate. Big Hug!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.